Skip to content

What Would I Say to You?

October 27, 2011

What would I say to you if I wasn’t worried about making you angry?

 What would I say to you if I thought you actually cared what I had to say?

 What would I say to you if I knew, that you knew, that I actually care deeply for you?

 What would I say to you if I were fearless?

 What would I say to you if I wanted what is best for you?

 What would I say to you if I cared more about your joy than my comfort?

 What would I say to you if I was willing to be second in my life?

 What would I say to you if I were fearless?

 What would I say to you if I didn’t mind a little awkwardness?

 What would I say to you if I wasn’t worried about pleasing you?

 What would I say to you if I actually believed all this Gospel stuff?

 What would I say to you if I were fearless?

 I would tell you that I am a sinner…and that you are too.

 I would tell you that because I am a sinner; I think, I say, and I do things that violate the law of God…and so do you.

 I would tell you that because of my sin…my sin…I am fractured in relationship to God and separated from my Creator…and because of yours…you are too.

I would tell you that this, in and of itself, is terrifying to me…and it should terrify you too.

 And then I’d tell you that it doesn’t have to stay this way.  I’d tell you that we don’t have to be separated from our God.  And I’d tell you that it has nothing to do with whether you are a good person…nothing to do with how well liked, well behaved, or well positioned you are…but that it is by the grace of God alone that we have any hope for reconciliation with the Creator that we have betrayed.

 I would tell you that God took it upon Himself to fix our tragic situation.  I’d tell you that Jesus Christ came and lived a life I couldn’t live, and died a death I deserved to die, so that I could gain a life that I’m not worthy of.   I’d tell you that “Now in Christ Jesus you who once were far off have been brought near by the blood of Christ.”  I’d tell you that “For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” 

And then…for those who already believe…I’d tell you this, because I love you more than you know, “Only let your manner of life be worthy of the gospel of Christ, so that whether I come and see you or am absent, I may hear of you that you are standing firm in one spirit, with one mind, striving side by side for the faith of the gospel.”

 This is what I would say to you…if only I were fearless.  What would you tell me?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2011 2:51 pm

    Well said, Adam! The transforming power of the gospel of Christ should radically affect the way we relate to one another. May He continue to grow and equip us to genuinely love, encourage and exhort one another that we may bring glory to Him!

  2. October 28, 2011 8:56 am

    Thanks for the comment Wendy. We can’t hear this enough…at least I can’t.

Leave a Reply

